Abenteurerin

I knew I’d be really bad at updating this

Leave a comment

Hallo!

I have officially been here for over a month! It’s only just starting to feel normal. I don’t have insane anxiety every time I need to drive anymore and I have a bit of a routine. Obviously I am still a scaredy-cat because I haven’t traveled anywhere yet. However, I have had a list going in my head for the past 6 months or so and I just wrote it down on paper and added some TBD dates up in there. Hopefully that will keep me on track 🙂

Some fun and exciting things that have happened so far (fun and exciting is being used loosely):

– Going to the Neuwied Zoo

– Celebrating Fasching (even though it turns out we went to a party meant for teenagers)

– Being totally sick and having a fever for a few days while at the same time having no internet

– Going to Limburg and seeing the Limburger Dom

Mostly I’ve been taking it easy and getting used to living in a strange place. Yes, my life has been quiet but that’s kind of how I like it. I love going for walks with the dog in the woods and I love having time to myself to get my room in order every week. I find it fun going to the supermarket and comparing prices and brands to what I’m used to and finding new things. I’ve started doing Pilates again so I can keep strong and rest better at night. Mostly I just love hanging out with my German family and watch my relationship with the babes grow. Of course I have the itch to go explore new cities and dance and go crazy — I’m not 80 yet. But day-to-day life is quiet and that’s fine by me.

Starting on Thursday I will be going to language school twice a week in Limburg. Last Thursday I went there with three friends and it is so adorable. It’s like walking through a storybook. Marie, from SoCal, and I had to take pictures because everything looked “so German” and it was too cute not to shoot. I have a feeling that when my classes are over at noon I will stay until the little ladies need to be picked up from the Kindergarten every time. It’s hard to get used to thinking that all these towns are 7 or 800 years old. That means their bread recipes are 7 to 800 years old. Always the important thoughts.

Alright so here’s my photo plop! And a reminder that no babe pictures are allowed on the Interwebs so if you want to see my kids send me a message and you can have them privately 🙂 

IMG_2615

PB&J ftw

IMG_2628

Coldness.

IMG_2629

Aika will drink from the stream regardless of temperature. She will get IN the stream, too.

IMG_2673

Letizia and I baked some sugar cookies 🙂

IMG_2716

Pretzels are my life.

IMG_2757

This is a Berliner. If you didn’t know what it looked like, it is a jelly donut. But better. Donuts are way better here.

IMG_2784

I made veggie chili! Best with a Brötchen 🙂

IMG_2803

We do a lot of Winnie Puuh activities here. “Denk, denk, denk…”

IMG_2824

For some reason the Neuwied Zoo has the largest Känguru habitat outside of Australia.

IMG_2825

HEDWIG

IMG_2827

I don’t even especially like birds but this owl was beautiful

IMG_2848

Tobi’s friend, Coco. He has visited him for three Sundays in a row.

IMG_2852

The ugliest bird ever. He looks like an English butler.

IMG_2854

🙂

IMG_2856

After going to the zoo Tobi and I went out to get pizza. It was my first time to a restaurant and omg the pizza was huge. I ordered a small.

IMG_2860

My first beer in Deutschland!

IMG_2863

Dancing with a bunch of sixteen year olds was pretty fun. The cover band was actually really good and they played a lot of American songs 🙂

IMG_2869

Everything is cool and old. This is just a regular bridge that the train crosses all the time but I think it looks so cool.

IMG_2877

Tobi’s favorite bakery. And he’s right. It’s so good.

IMG_2905

I want to take a lot of pictures on my walks with Aika because I’m sure it’ll change a lot through the seasons. I can’t wait for spring!!

IMG_2944

So it snowed one day. The snowboarding cravings were real. But it melted within a day and a half.

IMG_3011

Limburg an der Lahn

IMG_2980

Der Limburger Dom from a nearby bridge. It’s a Catholic cathedral.

IMG_2981

Cuban food and a banana beer

IMG_3005

Beer mixed with coke. Surprisingly tasty!

IMG_2747

Sometimes you need to fit five people into a car and it hurts a little bit.

IMG_2806

Valentine’s Day selfie pre-Skype date

IMG_2855

I’m a child.

IMG_2857

Tobi and me all dressed up for Fasching

IMG_2912

After hunting at Rewe, we found some TOFU! It’s actually easy to find at the bigger grocery store.

IMG_2958

This is probably the best fake wiener I’ve ever tasted. German quality I guess.

IMG_2982

Tobi, me, and Marie in Limburg

IMG_2989

Candid shot of Maria and me

IMG_2985

Strained selfie

IMG_2983

Der Limburger Dom up close

These are a little out of order, but OH WELL. I love you all!

–Min.

Leave a Reply

